About Us

What are the Finnish cultural and academic institutes?

  • non-governmental bodies promoting co-operation between Finnish and international cultural and academic organizations and professionals
  • expert organisations supporting Finnish arts, culture and research around the world
  • independent non-profit organisations maintained by a private foundation or fund

What do the institutes do?

  • Advance international mobility, visibility and collaboration of Finnish professionals in the arts, culture and research
  • Provide information on Finnish culture, arts and research
  • Organise exhibitions, seminars, courses and other events
  • Run residency and mobility programs for arts professionals and researchers
  • Conduct academic research
  • Collaborate with other Finnish organizations in the Team Finland network and with other European cultural institutes in the EUNIC network (European Union National Institutes for Culture)

The Finnish Cultural and Academic Institutes oppose racism and discrimination. We promote equality and the diversity of Finnish culture and strive to diversify research and science globally.

The Finnish Cultural and Academic Institutes (SKTI) is a Helsinki-based association that assists the institute network in communications, administration and lobbying in Finland. The institutes and SKTI are subsidised by the Ministry of Education and Culture in Finland. Their projects receive additional funding from private Finnish and foreign foundations, companies and partners.

The board of the association comprises representatives of the organisations maintaining the institutes and of staff members of the institutes. The board is chaired by Mr Sakari Karjalainen (Foundation for the Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux & Foundation of the Finnish Institute in the Middle East) and Ms Virpi Näsänen (The board of the Finnish-Norwegian Cultural Institute) acts as the deputy chairwoman. The other members of the board are Mr Anders Adlercreutz (Ibero-American Foundation), Ms Laura Hirvi (The Finnish Institute in Germany), Ms Katariina Mustakallio (Institutum Romanum Finlandiae Foundation) and Ms Manna Satama (Foundation of the Finnish Institute at Athens). Ms Pirjo Hiidenmaa (Foundation of the Finnish Institute in Japan) and Ms Kati Laakso (The Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux) serve as deputy members of the board. The members are appointed for three years and this period can be extended by three more years.